Round four of the BMXA National Series commenced at Nerang BMX Club today with plenty of riders winning their first two motos.

On a day where a comfortable 19 degrees warmed riders and spectators under a consistent blue sky, the fourth round of the 2018 BMXA National Series began on the Gold Coast with age group riders contesting their first two motos.

Hundreds of riders arrived at a pristine track at Nerang, with a smooth new surface set to guarantee fast racing. For the 37 riders who won all their laps, their only wish might have been for the gates to drop faster…or for tomorrow’s third moto and finals to arrive sooner.

Under a summer-like sun, practice was the first order of the day, which preceded motos one and two taking place under a setting sun. There was plenty to cheer about too, as riders all put their best foot forward. Many earned themselves a win, but it was those who scored two or more (hello cruiser and 20-inch riders) who topped the headlines today.

Of those who consistently showed their back wheel to their opposition, it was riders from the host state that showed their might. In total 20 Queenslanders arrived with their “A” game. With a strong chance at taking a national series win on home turf, the sunshine state riders who got off to a flying start included:

  • Letitia Weatherhead (30+ masters ladies and 45-49 women’s cruisers) Bayside BMX Club
  • Dylan Dauth (8-boy’s) Nerang BMX Club
  • Fraser Vaughan (9-boy’s) Pine Rivers BMX Club
  • Max Castle (9-boy’s) Ashmore BMX Club
  • Benjamin Schramm (10-boy’s) Ashmore BMX Club
  • Jasmine Standish (10-girl’s) Suncoast Hinterland BMX Club
  • Callum Woodbury (11-boy’s and 11-12 boy’s cruiser) Ashmore BMX Club
  • Oliver Rivers (11-boy’s) Moranbah BMX Club
  • Teya Rufus (12-girl’s) Maryborough BMX Club
  • Thomas Tucker (13-boy’s and 13-14 boy’s cruiser) Pine Rivers BMX Club
  • Callum Howarth (13-boy’s) Nerang BMX Club
  • Isabella Schramm (13-girl’s) Ashmore BMX Club
  • Jesse Asmus (15-boy’s) Nerang BMX Club
  • Buddha Baum (15-boy’s) Beenleigh BMX Club
  • Des’ree Barnes (16-girl’s) Beenleigh BMX Club
  • Dirk Winter (25-29 men’s) Suncoast Hinterland BMX Club
  • Tenielle Botfield (25-29 women’s cruiser) Pine Rivers BMX Club
  • Joe Tate (40-44 men’s cruiser) Redlands BMX Club
  • Tom McClellan (45-49 men’s cruiser) Centenary Plains BMX Club
  • Jason Nowland (45-49 men’s cruiser) Ashmore BMX Club

Although it was the Queensland riders who have been highlighted today, there are a litany of riders from around the country who also came to play. Undoubtedly, they should not be underestimated in the battle for the finals and eventually the top spot on the podium tomorrow. To see full results from today – CLICK HERE

All eyes will eagerly await gates dropping tomorrow morning, action commences at 9:15am AEST. Finals are scheduled for 11:45am, and expect an electric atmosphere as Aussie riders young, old and elite chase victory in round four of the national series.