Another weekend of BMX racing done and dusted which means that the Tales from the Berm is due for another week. Read on!

COVER PIC: Pic courtesy of Tuggeranong BMX Club Facebook page.

On the cards over the weekend were many notable BMX events such as the fifth round of the Oxley Cycles Shootout, a Super Saturday at Proserpine BMX Club, the Warrnambool Classic and round two of the WA Super Series. But catching the spotlight this week was the 2019 ADCON ACT BMX Championships at the Tuggeranong BMX Club.

Over 500 entries were recorded from the weekend with many outstanding results meaning riders came away with an ACT plate in their hands, some with even two!

Saturday, March 25, held the cruiser riders accompanied by the sprocket and mini wheeler participation classes. A tally of riders notched together some impressive performances making their mark on the day.

Below are the winning riders.

  • Zane Bourke: 8-10 boy’s cruiser (Maitland Tenambit BMX Club)
  • Isla Basa: 8-10 girl’s cruiser (Macarthur BMX Club)
  • Miller Ruks: 11-12 boy’s cruiser (Lake Macquarie BMX Club)
  • Maddie Hayes: 11-12 girl’s cruiser (Tuggeranong BMX Club)
  • Joshua Jolly: 13-14 boy’s cruiser (Knox BMX Club)
  • Courtney Oostendorp: 13-14 girl’s cruiser (Ashmore BMX Club)
  • Zachary Moore: 15-16 boy’s cruiser (Maitland Tenambit BMX Club)
  • Daniel Morris: 17-24 men’s cruiser (Tamworth BMX Club)
  • Stacey Brown: 17-24 women’s cruiser (Clarence Valley BMX Club)
  • Sarah Louise: 30-34 women’s cruiser (Canberra BMX Club)
  • Glenn Tracey: 35-39 men’s cruiser (Penrith BMX Club)
  • Robert Slatter: 40-44 men’s cruiser (Sunbury BMX Club)
  • Melanie Gibson: 40-44 women’s cruiser (Sydney BMX Club)
  • Danny Galea: 45-49 men’s cruiser (Frankston BMX Club)
  • Brett Barnes: 50+ men’s cruiser (Hawkesbury Hornets BMX Club)

For a full list of results from Saturday – CLICK HERE

Also touching the track on Saturday were the superclass competitors who received a double dose of finals over the weekend. Saturday’s results saw Lake Macquarie’s Nathaniel Rodway on top of the men’s pile, while Southlake/Illawarra’s Leanna Curtis took out the women’s.

It was a similar scenario on Sunday for the superclass riders as the NSW duo mirrored their actions from the previous day to cross the finish line first yet again.

Coincidently, this pair have produced these results before at the Tuggeranong track when the sixth round of the 2018 national series took place there.

Take a look at their finals from that day below!

Joining the superclass field were the other 20inch riders as well as the open wheel competitors. Rodway and Curtis weren’t the only ones to go back-to-back over the weekend.

Adding to their ACT plate stack after their success in cruisers on Saturday, were Robert Slatter (30+ masters open wheel), Daniel Morris (17-24 men), Isla Basa (10-girl’s), Courtney Oostendorp (15-girl’s) and Melanie Gibson (30-34 women).

Gibson’s double up mirrored her results from the 2018 national championships and puts the experienced Canberra-based rider on track to win back to back Australian titles when the nationals head to Shepparton from May 20-25.

Haven’t entered nationals in Shepp? You can do so HERE!

Also throwing down the heat on Sunday were the following riders who won every single race they competed in.

  • Harley Bradshaw: 8-boy’s (Sydney BMX Club)
  • Ivy Gilbert: 8-girl’s (Southlake/Illawarra BMX Club)
  • Harvey Brooks: 9-boy’s (Knox BMX Club)
  • Amelia Stichbury: 9-girl’s (Tuggeranong BMX Club)
  • Kyne Baird: 11-boy’s (Terrigal BMX Club)
  • Breanna Marsh: 11-girl’s (Southlake/Illawarra BMX Club)
  • Noah Elton: 13-boy’s (Terrigal BMX Club)
  • Danielle Fleming: 13-girl’s (Penrith BMX Club)
  • Jayden Seaton: 14-boy’s (Castle Hill BMX Club)
  • Lachlan Moore: 15-boy’s (Maitland Tenambit BMX Club)
  • Harrison Davis: 16-boy’s (Maitland Tenambit BMX Club)
  • Rhys Williams: 40-44 men (Freestyle Australia)
  • Danny Galea: 45-49 men (Frankston BMX Club)

For a full list of results from Sunday – CLICK HERE


Entries for stage 3 of the 2019 BMXA BAD BOY National Series are closing next Sunday 11:59pm AEDT. Get in now HERE!

 Below are the other events and their results from around Australia over the weekend.

  • 2019 Oxley Cycles Shootout Series Rd5, Hinterland BMX ClubHERE
  • Super Saturday, Proserpine BMX ClubHERE
  • Southern Stampede Rd 1, The Cove BMX ClubHERE
  • Warrnambool Classic, Warrnambool BMX ClubHERE
  • Cairns Sunday Rd 5, Cairns BMX ClubHERE
  • Reliance Partners Insurance Brokers WA Super Series Rd2, Wanneroo BMX Club – HERE
  • Race Day 22, Satellite City BMX Club – HERE
  • Southern Stampede Rd2, The Cove BMX ClubHERE