The Grands: Known as the greatest BMX race on earth, here’s what happened last year and which Aussies are in action in 2019.

The biggest race on the USABMX calendar has commenced and Aussies are ready to rumble in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

For years, the Australian contingent competing at the Grand Nationals have presented serious trouble for the host nation and the locals are forever wary of the handful of riders from down under.

Last year was no different for the green and gold army who returned home with 20 top three finishes across various categories and events.

The Grands plays host to riders of all ages and abilities, and also holds an invitational event known as the Race of Champions (ROC).

Australia had six riders find the top three on the ROC podium as well as another ten riders within the top eight.

They were:

  • Isaiah Crook-Sims: FIRST (15-16 mixed open)
  • Thomas Tucker: SECOND (13-14 open)
  • Matthew Blake: SECOND (21-25 open)
  • Lauren Reynolds: THIRD (women’s elite)
  • Anthony Dean: THIRD (men’s elite)
  • Tenniele Botfield: THIRD (17-20 mixed open)
  • Tama Onekawa: FOURTH (9-10 open)
  • Joshua Nash: FOURTH (26-30 open)
  • Jayce Cunning: FIFTH (A-Pro)
  • Jade McPherson: FIFTH (31 & over open)
  • Nathaniel Darko: FIFTH (13-14 mixed open)
  • Iesha Anderson: SIXTH (17-20 mixed open)
  • Rachel Jones: SEVENTH (women’s elite)
  • Joshua McLean: SEVENTH (men’s elite)
  • Bill Woodward: SEVENTH (11-12 open)
  • Cameron Gatt: EIGHTH (9-10 open)


 The Grands results were just as successful for the Aussie riders who bagged another 16 top three podiums, while a further 16 results were recorded in the top eight.

Special mentions should go to Pine Rivers’ 7x 20” world champion Thomas Tucker, who last year was the first Australian to win an American NAG 1 (National Age Group 1) title after sealing the overall victory with a dominant display in the 13-expert boy’s final at Grands.

Another rider who deserves recognition is Tamworth’s junior elite rider Jack Davis, who claimed first place in not only the 15-16 open, but also the 16-expert boy’s.

Joining Tucker and Davis in the top eight for their respective categories were another 21 riders including:

  • Thomas Tucker: FIRST (13-expert boy’s), SIXTH (13-14 open)
  • Jack Davis: FIRST (15-16 open), FIRST (16-expert boy’s)
  • Brett Scruse: FIRST (46-50 expert men’s), THIRD (46-50 men’s cruiser)
  • Jayce Cunning: SECOND (A-Pro)
  • Anthony Dean: SECOND (men’s elite)
  • Tyson Kenny: SECOND (13-14 open)
  • Julia Botfield: SECOND (36-40 women’s cruiser)
  • Letitia Weatherhead: SECOND (41-45 women’s cruiser), SECOND (41 & over women’s)
  • Sandy Cameron: SECOND (46-50 women’s cruiser), THIRD (41 & over women’s)
  • Tama Onekawa: THIRD (9-10 open), SEVENTH (10-expert boy’s)
  • Joshua Nash: THIRD (26-30 open), FOURTH (26-30 men’s cruiser)
  • Bruce Morris: THIRD (51 & over expert men’s)
  • Lauren Reynolds: FOURTH (women’s elite)
  • Portia Eden: FOURTH (11-12 mixed open)
  • Tenniele Botfield: FOURTH (17-20 mixed open)
  • Nathaniel Darko: FOURTH (13-intermediate)
  • Jade McPherson: FIFTH (41-45 men’s cruiser), SEVENTH (41-45 expert men’s)
  • Jaiden Fraser: FIFTH (12-novice)
  • Cameron Gatt: SIXTH (13-14 open), EIGHTH (9-10 open)
  • Bill Woodward: SEVENTH (11-12 open)
  • Kye Affoo: SEVENTH (17-20 expert men’s)
  • Rachel Jones: EIGHTH (women’s elite)
  • Jack Lupton: EIGHTH (7-novice)

To read more about last year’s success including the race replays – CLICK HERE

For the full list of results from the 2018 Grand Nationals – CLICK HERE

The 2020 Grands will once again take place in the River Spirit Expo in Tulsa, Oklahoma with action well and truly kicking off on Friday (November 29) with the ROC, before Saturday holds the first round of motos for the age classes as well as the championship classes that night.

Sunday will wrap up the event, with the age classes competing in the remainder of their motos before the mains commence. (For a full run through of Grands, scroll to the bottom of the article).

Below is the current list of Aussie riders competing. (BMXA may have missed some names due to riders not registering with our insurance. Please let us know who they are by emailing, so we can add them to the list.)


  • Corey Millar
  • Toby Millar
  • Ashton-Wypych Coles
  • Jack Davis
  • Courntey Oostendorp
  • Tayla Cloete
  • Callum Wooler
  • Thomas Tucker
  • Callum Woodbury
  • Kye Affoo
  • Sheldon Watt
  • Jake Bonham
  • Tayla Bonham
  • Julia Botfield
  • Kiana Botfield
  • Izaac Kennedy
  • Jordan Callum
  • Ronan Webber
  • Jayce Cunning
  • Samuel Ivas

 Stay tuned to BMXA’s social media platforms as we share more information closer to the event including times, live streaming and results after the racing!



Thursday, November 28

All day practice by age group

Friday, November 29

7AM (12am AEST Saturday Nov 30) – Race of Champions

Saturday, November 30

9AM (2am AEST Sunday Dec 1) – Grands – First round of motos


6PM (11am Sunday Dec 1) – GoPro Pro Championship Finals

Sunday, December 1

7:30AM (12:30am Monday Dec 2) – Grands, second round of motos PLUS mains.