Here’s what happened on Sunday, August 18 in China!

COVER PIC: Saya Sakakibara competing at the 2019 UCI BMX World Championships in Heusden-Zolder, Belgium (Pic courtesy of Craig Dutton Photography).

Tokyo Olympic hopeful Saya Sakakibara has led the way for the Australian contingent during the 2019 Qiansen Trophy in Chifeng City, Inner Mongolia, China after she claimed two second places in an action-packed day of racing.

Due to wet weather on Saturday, August 17, the event postponed all racing to Sunday, resulting in riders competing for two finals on the same day.

Sakakibara took on the challenge putting in all her reserves of strength to finish second in both finals. Taking the top gong in both of the women’s finals was Denmark’s Simone Tetsche Christensen who picked up $10,000.

On the men’s ledger, both finals gates featured several Aussies as the 2019 elite men’s national series champion Joshua Boyton continued his strong run of form, picking up a fifth in Race 1, and eighth in Race 2.

Joining him in Race 1 was the 2018 elite men’s national champion Brandon Te Hiko, who finished sixth, while Andrew Hughes picked up seventh. The podium for Race 1 had Switzerland’s Simon Marquart taking the win, with Dutch defending champion Niek Kimmann in second and France’s Sylvain Andre in third.

In Race 2, Boyton’s seventh place finish was joined by Kyle Hill who came in eighth. The top three for Race 2 had the same riders from Race 1 except for where they finished.

Kimmann grabbed the top spot this time, while Andre came second and Marquart third.

While there was only a men’s and women’s group for riders to compete in, a junior elite category based on points was running during the event. Aston Wypych-Coles from Castle Hill and Wanneroo’s Dylan Bennetts finished atop the standings with Wypych-Coles first and Bennetts in second.

Full Australian Results (As we know)

Men’s Elite:

  • Joshua Boyton: Race 1, FIFTH. Race 2, EIGHTH
  • Brandon Te Hiko: Race 1, SIXTH. Race 2, SEMI
  • Andrew Hughes: Race 1, SEVENTH. Race 2, SEMI
  • Kyle Hill: Race 1, SEMI. Race 2, SEVENTH
  • Bradley Game: Race 1, SEMI. Race 2, unknown
  • Izaac Kennedy: Race 1, QUARTER. Race 2, SEMI
  • Adam Carey: Race 1, QUARTER. Race 2, QUARTER
  • Aston Wypych-Coles: Race 1, QUARTER. Race 2, SEMI
  • Dylan Bennetts: Race 1, QUARTER. Race 2, QUARTER

Women’s Elite:

  • Saya Sakakibara: Race 1, SECOND. Race 2, SECOND
  • Erin Lockwood: Race 1, SEMI. Race 2, SEMI
  • Sara Jones: Race 1, unknown. Race 2, unknown
  • Rachel Gaskin: Race 1, unknown. Race 2, unknown.


BMX Australia have received these results through the UCI website as well as through the social media of riders. We apologise for those results we have been unable to confirm. If we have missed one of the Aussie riders, please don’t hesitate to contact or private message us through Facebook.

 For the results from UCI – CLICK HERE