More than 500 riders on the gate for the UCI Oceania Continental BMX Chamopionships! See all the winners here, kudos to those that put on a cracking show for the opening day of racing! 

The BMX Australia National Championships week has started in flying style for Bunbury BMX Club’s Blade Cherubino, who stormed to victory at his home track in the 15-boys event at today’s UCI Oceania Continental BMX Championships.

Riders from across the country have converged on the regional centre of Bunbury, located 180km south of Perth for this year’s event, and more than 500 lined up on the gate today.

In the elite classes it was Corey Frieswyk who took out the elite men’s class, 2012 Olympic silver medallist Sarah Walker the women’s. Nathaniel Rodway won the junior elite men’s, while Ashlee Miller claimed the junior women’s race.


Back in the challenge classes, Cherubino was the hometown hero, the #5A rider calling it a “magnificent” win at home.

“It’s magnificent to win at my home club; I train three to four times a week. Even so, I wasn’t always confident I would win today, I just got out there and had a ride,” Cherubino said.

Jayden Keogh from Southside BMX Club in WA was second, while Harrison Davis of Maitland Tenambit BMX Club in NSW rounded out that podium.

While Cherubino was the only rider from Bunbury to triumph, his younger brother Steele claimed second place in the 12 boys behind #2A Noah Elton of Terrigal BMX Club in NSW. Bill Woodward – the #1A – of Island BMX Club in Queensland was third.

Look out for a cracking 12-boys race for an Aussie plate on Friday.

Bunbury’s other podium getter for today’s racing was Craig Herrmann who was second in the 35-39 men’s cruiser class. Adam Thomsen of Maitland won it, while South Australia’s Luke Daff got third.

Also on track today were 29 sprocket riders, who all got a taste of the track before they line up tomorrow for their main event at the Aussie titles.

The above riders aside, there were plenty of winners throughout the day. The significant majority of the victorious riders were from Australia, with only Walker and 14-year-old racer Megan Williams coming out on top for the New Zealand contingent.

Other winners included Jeorjia Kelson of NSW in the 8-girls, Riley Lawrence from SA in the 8-boys, Sophia Preston (QLD) in the 9-girls, Fraser Vaughan making it a Queensland double in the nine-years age group.

Jasmine Standish (QLD) and Cameron Gatt (VIC) were on top of the 10-years ages groups, Imogen Healy (SA) and Matias Harris (WA) the 11-years. Sacha Mills (QLD) edged out Teya Rufus (QLD) in the 12-girls, while Caitlin Jong continued her good form to win the 13 girls.

Thomas Tucker from Pine Rivers BMX Club again starred to win the 13-boys, as well as the 13-14 boys cruiser class.

Tyson Kenny (QLD) was the rider to beat in 14-boys, while Shannon Petre (QLD) finished atop the 15-girls. In the 16’s age groups Des’ree Barnes (QLD) came out on top, as did WA’s Corey Taylor.

A WA double was the toast of the 17-24 classes as Bianca Campbell and Scott Gaskin raced to top spot in the respective men and women’s events. In fact the men’s event was almost an all WA affair as the state filled places one through seven in the final.

Zach Webb (NSW) won the 25-29 men’s age, Terry Gniatkiewicz (QLD) the 35-39 men’s race. In the 40-44 men’s final Michael Stevens (QLD) was on top, WA’s Karl Mustchin brought more glory to Australia’s west in the 45-49 men’s class, while Steve Ewart (QLD) was the best of the 50+ class.

It wasn’t just the 20-inch classes causing a stir on track, so too were the Cruiser classes, who had a spread of riders from across the country taking top spot.

The 8-10-boys class belonged to Jesse Paul (SA), Brodie Gooch (QLD) claimed top spot in the 11-12 boys class. Joshua Cooke (17-24 men) crossed the line first in the 25-29 class, bringing glory to WA in the process. Adam Thomsen (NSW) won the 35-39 men’s class, while Matthew Moore (NSW) and Jeffrey Williams (QLD) won the 40-44 and 50+ men’s classes respectively.

In the only cruiser girls event, Yasmin Ford got the win for the NT, Shayla Winwood from WA and Catherine Carter from the NT finishing second and third.

Racing continues tomorrow with Sprocket and Cruiser classes, which will be the first two events of the BMXA National Championships. Racing will commence at 10:45am AEDT.