With the conclusion of the fourth stage of the 2019 BMXA BAD BOY National Series at Satellite City, the results have brought with it the final standings of the UCI national series competition

COVER PIC: Courtesy of Get Snapt

The third and final round of the championship series had elite and junior elite men and women battling it out for last minute points, and their results has shaken up some of the final rankings

The series commenced with the first round at Westside (March 3) before heading to Ipswich West Moreton (April 14) and making its final stand last weekend at Satellite City (June 29).

Kiana Botfield – 2019 Junior Elite Women’s National Series Champion 

Consistency is key and Kiana Botfield from Pine Rivers showed just that as she took out the junior elite women’s national series title. Botfield competed at every round, taking second place overall at Westside, third at Ipswich and finishing first at Sat City.

Watch her great race at Ipswich as she finishes in second, close behind Castle Hill’s Ashlee Miller.

Junior Elite Women’s Top 3

1st Kiana Botfield – Pine Rivers BMX Club, QLD (294 points)
2nd Des’Ree Barnes – Beenleigh BMX Club, QLD (198 points)
3rd Leah Hearne – Batemans Bay BMX Club, NSW (190 points)

Matthew Tidswell – 2019 Junior Elite Men’s National Series Champion

The Cove’s Matthew Tidswell has been in sublime form so far in 2019 and there was clear evidence of this at the national championships in Shepparton. If his title as the junior elite men’s national champion is the cake, his newly added national series title is the cherry on top.

The junior elite men’s class has been one to watch this series as Tidswell was joined at the head of the pack by Manning Valley’s Oliver Moran and Woorree Parks Corey Taylor. But Tidswell was the man to prevail, claiming a clean sweep at Westside, a second place behind Moran at Ipswich, and another clean sweep at Sat City.

Expect Tidswell to add many more titles his list in the future. Here’s his race from Westside

Junior Elite Men’s Top 3

1st Matthew Tidswell – The Cove BMX Club, SA (495 points)
2nd Oliver Moran – Manning Valley BMX Club, NSW (480 points)
3rd Corey Taylor – Woorree Park BMX Club, WA (189 points)

Rachel Gaskin – 2019 Elite Women’s National Series Champion

Western Australia will have a national series champion in 2019 with Southside’s Rachel Gaskin winning this year’s elite women’s jersey.

Although Gaskin didn’t find the top of the three podiums, the 22-year old consistently performed at every UCI national series round and has come away with the chocolates.

Elite Women’s Top 3

1st Rachel Gaskin – Southside BMX Club, WA (284 points)
2nd Leanna Curtis – Southlake/Illawarra BMX Club, NSW (198 points)
3rd Annaliese Rokov – The Cove BMX Club, SA (190 points)

Joshua Boyton – 2019 Elite Men’s National Series Champion

 Joshua Boyton from Centenary Plains is one of Australia’s most exciting BMX racers and the 19-year old continues to impress on his road to BMX stardom.

Boyton has taken this year’s national series by storm and has reaped the rewards by claiming the elite men’s national series title. Starting off with a seventh at Westside, the Queenslander had a point to prove at Ipswich.

Using his local knowledge of the track, Boyton beat home Rio Olympian Bodi Turner and fellow rising star Josh McLean to stand tallest on the podium, all but nailing his name in this year’s title books.

Boyton wrapped up the series with a fourth place overall at Satellite City, beating Turner and WA’s defending series champion Bradley Game on the overall standings.

Below is his winning final from Ipswich.

 Elite Men’s Top 3

1st Joshua Boyton – Centenary Plains BMX Club, QLD (454 points)
2nd Bradley Game – Wanneroo BMX Club, WA (433 points)
3rd Bodi Turner – Eastfield BMX Club, VIC (366 points)

Congratulations to BMXA’s 2019 UCI national series champions and we look forward to watching you defend your titles in 2020.