Cycling Australia has announced a twelve member Australian Team to contest the 2019 UCI BMX World Championships in Belgium in July

Courtesy of Cycling Australia
PIC: Courtesy of Craig Dutton Photography

The elite team is headlined by siblings Saya Sakakibara and Kai Sakakibara alongside Olympians Lauren Reynolds and Anthony Dean.

Wollongong’s Saya Sakakibara heads into the World Championships following a solid first half to her 2019 UCI BMX Supercross World Cup Season which boasts two finals appearances highlighted by fifth last week in round six in France.

Kai Sakakibara equalled his career-best world cup result with a fourth-place finish in May’s third round, while Dean’s consistent season has seen him reach the finals in France and semi-finals on two occasions.

Dual Olympian Lauren Reynolds continues her push for a third Games with a string of strong performances highlighted by fourth in round four in May.

Matt Krasevskis, Izaac Kennedy, Josh McLean will make their elite world championship debut after strong performances during domestic and international events.

The Under 19 team includes Des’Ree Barnes, Matt Tidswell, Jack Davis, Oliver Moran and Corey Taylor.

“The current international race scene is tougher than ever, and the selected team have demonstrated they are the strongest individuals and able to qualify through the rounds against an international field,” Wade Bootes, Cycling Australia BMX Technical Director.

“Performances from Australian athletes during the first six world cups this year have highlighted that while we have some challenges to overcome, we have also confirmed we are on a trajectory to meet our objective of a medal winning result at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.”

The 2019 UCI BMX World Championships finals for the elite and junior categories will be held at the BMX Club Circuit in Zolder on Saturday 27 July.

2019 Australian Cycling Team


  • Anthony Dean (SA)
  • Kai Sakakibara (NSW)
  • Matt Krasevskis (QLD)
  • Izaac Kennedy (QLD)
  • Josh McLean (VIC)


  • Saya Sakakibara (NSW)
  • Lauren Reynolds (WA)


  • Matt Tidswell (SA)
  • Jack Davis (NSW)
  • Oliver Moran (NSW)
  • Corey Taylor (WA)


  • Des’ree Barnes (QLD)

FOLLOW #AusCyclingTeam

To read the full selection criteria – CLICK HERE