Two time Olympian Lauren Reynolds will be joined by 13 others in the inaugural BMXA National Team, while a further 11 riders are announced as part of the Talented Athlete Program

The new look BMX Australia National Team will be spearheaded by two-time Olympian Lauren Reynolds, 2016 Australian elite women’s champion Leanna Curtis as well as fast rising elite male riders Tristyn Kronk, Josh McLean and Izaac Kennedy.

Announced on Tuesday December 5, the BMXA National Team replaces the BMXA Academy and is geared towards a holistic approach to rider development. High on the priority for this team is the ability for coaching management to further the BMX careers of Australian riders in a way that best suits the individual.

As such the quintet of Reynolds, Curtis, Kronk, McLean and Kennedy represent BMXA’s ‘Tier 1’ athletes, and are a diverse group of riders who have mixed focuses.

Reynolds has spent the majority of her professional career based in the USA, racing on occasion in Australia as well as committing to UCI events across the globe. Following in her footsteps are both McLean and Kennedy who are beginning to make a foray onto the US scene.

Meanwhile Kronk and Curtis have applied themselves in Australia and are regulars at BMXA National Series rounds, while also travelling each year for international world cup events.

Joining the five Tier 1 riders are those categorised in Tier 2, which includes elite riders Sara Jones, Brandon Te Hiko, Matt Krasevskis, Josh Boyton and Andrew Hughes. Junior elite rider Nathaniel Rodway is also included in the group, as is 16-years-girls competitor Des’ree Barnes and 15-year-old’s Shannon Petre and Paige Harding.

All nine Tier 2 riders selected in the team will have a goal to be reaching podiums at national events, while also gaining exposure to international racing.

Irrespective of which tier a rider has been categorised in, they will receive coaching support from BMXA National Coaching Management, who will work in conjunction with state and private coaches.

Also named are the riders who have been selected into the BMXA Talented Athlete Program (TAP). This program has been designed for riders who have been identified by state coaches to have the future potential to be selected to the BMXA National Team.

The TAP will comprise 11 riders, including Phoebe Wallen, Vanessa Gooden, Oliver Moran, Corey Taylor, Jack Davis, Rayna Anesbury, Jesse Asmus, Buddha Baum, Gian Renato, Tyson Kenny and Kira Hill. These riders will predominantly be supported by their state coach and state association, with the BMXA National TAP Coach overseeing the program.

Leading the BMXA National Team will be National Coaching Manager Luke Madill and National TAP Coach Simon Anderson. With the formality of contacting riders to offer them a place on the team now out of the way, Madill said he is eager to get underway with the work that lies ahead.

“We have a really strong group of riders as part of the inaugural BMXA National Team and TAP program,” Madill enthused.

“It will be great to have Lauren back with BMX Australia and as someone who some of our younger members can look up to and learn from. In fact all of our Tier 1 riders demonstrate exceptional commitment to the sport and we expect that to rub off on all of our riders.”

“It’s also really important to remember that this team now fits in with our revamped athlete pathway, which places increased focus on supporting our state coaches, and inevitably resources for club coaches too.”

The BMXA National team represents one component of a multi-pronged strategy to help Australian riders achieve their dreams.

2018 BMX Australia National Team

Tier 1 athletes:

Lauren Reynolds – Bunbury BMX Club, WA

Leanna Curtis – Southlake/Illawarra BMX Club, NSW

Tristyn Kronk – Walkerston BMX Club, QLD

Josh McLean – Knox BMX Club, VIC

Izaac Kennedy – Logan City BMX Academy, QLD

Tier 2 athletes:

Sara Jones – Caboolture BMX Club, QLD

Brandon Te Hiko – Geelong BMX Club, VIC

Matt Krasevskis – Ipswich West Moreton BMX Club, QLD

Joshua Boyton – Centenary Plains BMX Club, QLD

Andrew Hughes – LMX Bicycle Supercross, NSW

Nathaniel Rodway – Lake Macquarie BMX Club, NSW

Des’ree Barnes – Beenleigh BMX Club, QLD

Shannon Petre – Cairns BMX Club, QLD

Paige Harding – Castle Hill BMX Club, NSW

Talented Athlete Program (TAP):

Phoebe Wallen – Casey BMX Club, VIC

Vanessa Gooden – Knox BMX Club, VIC

Oliver Moran – Manning Valley BMX Club, NSW

Corey Taylor – Woorree Park BMX Club, WA

Jack Davis – Tamworth BMX Club, NSW

Rayna Anesbury – The Cove BMX Club, SA

Jesse Asmus – Nerang BMX Club, QLD

Buddha Baum – Beenleigh BMX Club, QLD

Gian Renato – Shepparton BMX Club, VIC

Tyson Kenny – Nerang BMX Club, QLD

Kira Hill – Nerang BMX Club

(Top PIC: MadB Photography/Angie Meares)