Riders from South Australia (and a few beyond SA borders) are making their way to the Copper Coast BMX Club for a weekend of action-packed racing.

COVER PIC: National champion Imogen Healy competing at the fifth round of the 2018 BMXA BAD BOY National Series at Cross Keys BMX Club. (Pic courtesy of Get Snapt)

South Australia’s Copper Coast BMX Club will host the 2018 BMXSA HitSix State Championships this weekend on October 27 and 28.

It’s been just under 18 years since the Copper Coast club has hosted the state championships, but with 35-years since their inception, the club located in SA’s Upper Yorke Peninsula region are relishing the opportunity to open their doors to riders once again.

Formerly known as the Bute BMX Club and then the Kadina & Districts BMX Club, the club finally rested on the Copper Coast name in December 2010. Despite name changes, the club has endured the test of time, and now has a standing as one of the few remaining country clubs in SA.

Heading into the event on high spirits are five riders who only last weekend won their respective 2018 BMXA BAD BOY National Series titles.

The title winners from SA were Riley Lawrence (8-boy’s), Shae Archbold (12-girl’s) from The Cove BMX Club, as well as Imogen Healy (11-girl’s) from Tea Tree Gully BMX Club.

Other national series winners racing at this weekend’s event are Victorians Cameron Gatt from Geelong BMX Club and Joshua Jolly from Knox BMX Club.

The former won national series titles in both the 10-boy’s 20-inch and 8-10 boy’s cruiser, while the latter claimed victory in 12-boy’s 20-inch and 11-12 boy’s cruiser.

For Archbold, Healy and Gatt, this weekend will present an opportunity to make it a trifecta of significant wins in 2018. Alongside their national series crowns, they also won their corresponding national titles and could add a SA state title to their resume by the conclusion of racing at Copper Coast.

To see the 2018 BMXA BAD BOY National Series Honour Roll – CLICK HERE

It won’t just be the race winners highlighting this weekend’s SA titles, there are also many riders who will receive recognition for their commitment to BMX in South Australia. Riders to be recognised for their time in the sport are:

10 Years:

  • Matthew Fox
  • Thomas Fox
  • Mark Sandford
  • Charlotte Tidswell
  • Sharna Tye
  • John Cobby

15 years:

  • Jack Dowse

20 years:

  • Dylan Gale

Before action kicks off on Saturday, make sure you know what’s on! See the event schedule below:

Friday, October 26

4pm – 7pm – Registration

4pm – 7:30pm – Practice

Saturday, October 27
(State Championships – Mini wheelers, sprockets, cruiser, superclass time trials)

8:15am – 10am: Registration

8:30am: Officials briefing

9am – 11:30am: Practice

11:30am: Track Closed – Riders Briefing

12:30pm: Racing (Motos 1-3, semi-finals, time trials and finals)

Sunday, October 28
(State Championships – 20” age, retro, superclass and masters)

7:30am: Officials briefing

8:00am – 9:45pm: Practice

10am: Racing (motos 1-3 and finals)

To see the full program from BMXSA – CLICK HERE

For all updates and announcements head to the South Australia BMX Facebook page – HERE