More than 500 riders made it a special day at Sydney BMX Club!

A hot Sydney day set the scene for the first day of challenge class finals at the 2019 BMX Australia BAD BOY National Championships at the Sydney BMX Club, located at Olympic Park to the west of the CBD.

Today’s action followed on from day one of competition, that saw riders complete three motos yesterday, before returning to the track for their fourth moto, qualifiers and finals today. Among those back on track, were four pairs of riders equal on points at the end of day one – READ YESTERDAY’S REPORT HERE.

The winning form continued for four of the eight riders in the group highlighted yesterday, as Amelia Stitchbury (9-girls, Tuggeranong BMX Club, ACT), Kade McNamara (8-boys, Happy Valley BMX Club, SA), Fraser Vaughan (10-boys, Pine Rivers BMX Club, QLD) and Noah Elton (13-boys, Terrigal BMX Club, NSW) all claimed class wins.

It was also a strong day for Penrith BMX Club’s Timothy Moylan who claimed wins in the 35+ masters open wheel race and the 35-39 men’s race. Likewise, Bayside BMX Club’s Letitia Weatherhead notched up two wins, beating home regular sparring partner Sandy Cameron (Penrith BMX Club) in both the 30+ masters women open wheel and the 35-39 cruiser women’s race.

Today was about riders young and old, and while the masters riders will go home pleased with their results, so will those at the beginning of their BMX journey. In the 8-girls class Southlake/Illawarra BMX Club’s Ivy Gilbert produced a tidy victory that saw her lead from start to finish. In the 10-girl’s Holyee-Ann Jackson from Ipswich West Moreton BMX Club was the first across the line, making her the first of three Queensland riders home in that final.

Asha Smith (cover picture) from Atherton BMX Club had a close battle with Suncoast Hinterland BMX Club’s Jasmine Standish, before prevailing in the 11-girl’s final. Imogen Healy from Tea Tree Gulley BMX Club in South Australia put in a fine performance to win the 12-girls decider.


There were a handful of riders on track today sporting a world plate, and one of them was Sacha Mills – world number seven – from Bayside BMX Club who won the 13-girl’s race. Soon after Ashmore BMX Club’s Isabella Schramm, sporting the #1A plate to signify her status as the reigning Aussie champ in her age group, hit the gas in the 14-girls race to lead home Australian number two Caitlin Jong of the Northern Territory.

Sydney local Nicola Fleming (Penrith BMX Club) was first in the 15-girls race, before fellow Sydneysider Paige Harding from Castle Hill BMX Club won the 16-girls race. It was the first of two finals for Harding, who also took on Australia’s top guns in the women’s Superclass event. That final was decided by a close call between Saya Sakakibara and Leanna Curtis, Harding finished eighth. READ ABOUT SUPERCLASS RACING HERE.

Macarthur BMX Club’s Jessica McCormack won the 17-24 women’s race.

In the finals for male competitors Riley Lawrence from The Cove BMX Club in South Australia produced a hard-fought win in the 9-boys final. In the very next race Pine Rivers BMX Club ace Fraser Vaughan proved why he is the world champion for his age group, producing a masterclass of racing to claim victory in the 10-boys event.

World number two in his age Bailey Mills from Bayside BMX Club edged out Cameron Gatt from Geelong BMX Club in the 11-boys final, while Aussie number six in the 12-boys age group Preston Murray hit top gear for a convincing win.

The next three finals saw world plated riders strut their stuff, as world number six Noah Elton (Terrigal BMX Club) won the 13-boys event, world seven in his age Callum Howarth (Nerang BMX Club) was first across the line in the 14-boys event and Jordan Callum (Rockingham BMX Club, WA) was top of the charts in the 15-boys event.

Nerang BMX Club would cheer for another victory in the 16-boys class soon after as Jesse Asmus won his final. National series hosts Sydney BMX Club cheered home Sam Thompson to victory in the 17-24 men’s final.

One rider who has been a prolific winner on the national series stage in recent years is Suncoast Hinterland BMX Club’s Dirk Winter, who was again the toast of the 25-29 men’s class today. In the 40-44 men’s class another regular visitor to the top of the podium won, Michael Carruthers from Castle Hill BMX Club. Jon Dennis from Pine Rivers BMX Club won the 45-49 men’s race.

Equally enticing today was the cruiser racing, which opened with a smooth performance from Tamworth’s Daniel Morris who won the 17-24 men’s event. A focused Kayden Underhill from Castle Hill was first home in the 8-10 boy’s cruiser race, while AJ Donald took home the top prize in the 11-12 cruiser boys’ race. A special mention goes to Cameron Gatt who held a convincing lead early on in that final, but unfortunately fell at the second to last turn. Bravely he got back up and rode to the finish line.

Nerang’s Callum Howarth made it a pair of victories as he added the 13-14 cruiser boys’ race to his 14-boys 20-inch win. Kane Stewart from Sunbury BMX Club in Victoria won the 15-16 cruiser boys. Adam Smidt from Terrigal was the second winner from his club today when he won the 45-49 cruiser men’s race, while Hawkesbury Hornets representative Brett Barnes was top of the 50+ cruiser men’s race.

Not to miss out on the highlights, a top race in the 11-12 cruiser girls rounded out the day as Sydney BMX Club’s Valencia Stevis had a tight tussle on her hands with Sunbury BMX Club rider Sienna Richmond. Stevis got the win, just under three-tenths of a second ahead of Richmond.

Also, on track were 53 sprockets, putting their best foot forward on the national stage.

Attention now turns to the second stage of the 2019 BMXA BAD BOY National Series, which will be hosted by Westside BMX Club in Perth from March 2-3.