A long list of Aussie riders are making their way to Chifeng City, Inner Mongolia, China for the 2019 Qiansen Group Trophy this weekend August 17 and 18.

COVER PIC: Brandon Te Hiko competing at the 2019 BMXA BAD BOY National Championships. (Courtesy of Get Snapt)

Marked as a UCI C1 event, the Pro Tracks facility will once again hand out some of the biggest cheques on the BMX calendar, as well as another opportunity for riders to earn some more valuable Olympic qualifying points before Tokyo next year.

The second edition of the event will have some minor changes to its predecessor. This year, the event will run over two days of racing with each day giving out a $5000 payout to the winners of the elite men and women.

What hasn’t changed is the mind-blowing amount of money which will be distributed evenly between the two categories. The top 32 riders from both the men’s and women’s elite classes will walk away with at least $400 from each day.

See the breakdown of prize money across both days below.

1st $5,000

2nd $4000

3th $2500

4th $1500

5th $1000

6th $750

7th $600

8th $500

9th – 16th $450

17th – 32nd  $400

Brandon Te Hiko, Australia’s 2018 elite men’s national champion, is well accustomed to the action-packed top tier event in China after the Victorian finished seventh in the final last year. While he couldn’t defend his national title this year, he is ready to go once again and won’t be going at it alone.

Joining him in the elite men’s contingent this weekend is the current elite men’s national champion Izaac Kennedy, the 2019 elite men’s national series champion Joshua Boyton, Brad Game, Dylan Bennetts, Andrew HughesKyle Hill, Adam Carey and Aston Wypych-Coles.

On the women’s ledger, Olympic hopeful Saya Sakakibara will be joined by the 2018 elite women’s national champion Erin Lockwood as well as Western Australia’s Rachel Gaskin and Sara Jones from Queensland.

 Last year, the event was dominated by the Dutch as the men’s podium saw Niek Kimmann win, with Joris Harmsen in second and Dave Van der Burg in third.


It was a similar story on the women’s podium as 2018 world champion Laura Smulders took first, with Denmark’s Simone Tetsche Christensen in second and Laura’s sister Merel in third.

The full list of Aussie riders can be seen below. 


  • Brandon Te Hiko
  • Izaac Kennedy
  • Joshua Boyton
  • Brad Game
  • Dylan Bennetts
  • Andrew Hughes
  • Kyle Hill
  • Adam Carey
  • Aston Wypych-Coles


  • Saya Sakakibara
  • Erin Lockwood
  • Rachel Gaskin
  • Sara Jones

An official list of competitors has not been released for this year’s edition which means it is hard determine if these riders are the only BMXA family members competing.

If there is someone missing from the list, please don’t hesitate to comment, message or send us an email at

Keep an eye on BMXA’s social media platforms for updates throughout the weekend.

For more information – CLICK HERE