There is a powerful force rising in the west, and the rest of Australia is aware of it!

COVER PIC: Courtesy of Shoot To Thrill Images – Perth WA

An epic event spread across two days of racing, the 2019 BMXWA State Championships at the Southern Districts BMX Club played host to 567 entries as riders participated from mini-wheelers, sprockets, cruisers and 20-inch categories.

The gates dropped on Friday, October 11 as 184 riders kicked off proceedings, and starting the event off with flying colours were nine riders who began a new regime as 2019-2020 WA state champions.

Among the nine winners were four who had white line fever all day and didn’t let anyone else pass them. The clean sweepers included Lilly Trott (Eastern Goldfields) in the 12 & under girl’s cruiser, national champ Jordan Callum (Rockingham) in the 15-16 boy’s cruiser, his coach Jade McPherson (Hills) in the 25-44 men’s cruiser and Kate Taylor (Southside) in the women’s cruiser.

Below is the complete winners list for Friday.

  • Zane Ratajczak: 8-10 boy’s cruiser (Westside BMX Club)
  • Brock Colvin: 11-12 boy’s cruiser (Wanneroo BMX Club)
  • Lilly Trott: 12 & under girl’s cruiser (Eastern Goldfields BMX Club)
  • Lochlan Taylor: 13-14 boy’s cruiser (Woorree Park BMX Club)
  • Jordan Callum: 15-16 boy’s cruiser (Rockingham BMX Club)
  • Joshua Cooke: 17-24 men’s cruiser (Hills BMX Club)
  • Jade McPherson: 25-44 men’s cruiser (Hills BMX Club)
  • Kate Taylor: women’s cruiser (Southside BMX Club)
  • Karl Mustchin: 45+ men’s cruiser (Wanneroo BMX Club)


For a full list of results – CLICK HERE

Saturday saw 382 riders competing across 30 classes and there was an abundance of extraordinary performances.

Leading the day were the top WA riders competing in the elite and junior elite categories and it was dominated by four riders who clean swept their respective classes.

Continuing his impressive 2019 was Woorree Park’s Corey Taylor who cleaned up the junior elite men’s class, beating home Wanneroo’s Dylan Bennetts and Rockingham’s Dylan Callum.

The corresponding junior elite women’s category was governed by Southside’s Bianca Campbell, with second place going to Shantelle Rea from Southern Districts and Wanneroo’s Katie Gray picking up third.

Using her experience competing against the best riders in the 2019 UCI BMX Supercross World Cup, Rachel Gaskin was the rider to beat in the elite women’s class as she clean swept the day to finish ahead of fellow Southside rider Kesia Savill and Eastern Goldfields’ Petra Brown in third.

The final race of the day had the elite men’s category on the gate, and there was no stopping Wanneroo’s Bradley Game as he beat home Bunbury’s Matthew Blake and Southside’s Cameron Ainger.

The elite riders weren’t the only ones to clean sweep their categories with a further 17 riders exhibiting to the rest of the country that WA means business.

They were:

  • Amelie Reid: 8-girl’s (Mandurah BMX Club)
  • Sarah Brooker: 9-girl’s (Westside BMX Club)
  • Jake Poat: 9-boy’s (Westside BMX Club)
  • Alyssa Howat: 11-girl’s (Westside BMX Club)
  • Declan McGhee: 11-boy’s (Rockingham BMX Club)
  • Luke White: 12-boy’s (Karratha BMX Club)
  • Ashlyn Keremelevich: 13-girl’s (Karratha BMX Club)
  • Jay Lander: 13-boy’s (Byford BMX Club)
  • Lara Scarvaci: 14-girl’s (Eastern Goldfields BMX Club)
  • Angus Richards: 14-boy’s (Westside BMX Club)
  • Lilyanne Croft: 15-girl’s (Westside BMX Club)
  • Jordan Callum: 15-boy’s (Rockingham BMX Club)
  • Jayden Keogh: 16-boy’s (Southside BMX Club)
  • Joshua Cooke: 17-29 men’s (Hills BMX Club)
  • Joel McLeod: 30-39 men’s (Rockingham BMX Club)
  • Shannon Lowe: 40-44 men’s (Southside BMX Club)
  • Karl Mustchin: 45-49 men’s (Wanneroo BMX Club)


Joining the clean sweepers as the new state champions of WA were:

  • Harrison Regan: 8-boy’s (Southside BMX Club)
  • Molly Betteridge: 10-girl’s (Eastern Goldfields BMX Club)
  • Coby Van De Velde: 10-boy’s (Westside BMX Club)
  • Rhiannon Richards: 12-girl’s (Southern Districts BMX Club)
  • Felicity Mann: 16-girl’s (Hills BMX Club) 1WA
  • Jayde Fabry-Roche: 17-29 women’s (Cockburn BMX Club)
  • Michelle Newport: 30+ women’s (Mandurah BMX Club)
  • Brad Lane: 50+ men’s (Hills BMX Club)
  • Jade McPherson: 30+ men’s masters (Hills BMX Club)


Going back-to-back to take out their 20inch category on top of their cruiser victories were the 2019 Sam Willoughby medallist Jordan Callum in the 15-boy’s, Joshua Cooke in the 17-29 men’s, Jade McPherson in the 30+ men’s masters and Karl Mustchin in the 45-49 men’s.

For a full list of results – CLICK HERE

The next state to hold their championships is South Australia on October 24 with all eyes turning to the final stage of the 2019 BMXA BAD BOY National Series at the Canberra BMX Club this weekend.

Be sure to keep an eye on BMXA’s social media platforms for content before the event, during it, and a comprehensive wrap following the weekend’s racing.

FRIDAY October 11

  • 2019 BMXWA State Championships Friday BLOCK – CLICK HERE
  • Spring Racing Rd5, Frankston Sharks BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Series 2 Rd6, Pine Rivers BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Race Night 21, Ipswich West Moreton BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Race Night, Happy Valley BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Friday Night Racing, Bayside BMX Club – CLICK HERE

SATURDAY October 12

  • 2019 Cooloola BMX Club Open Day – CLICK HERE
  • 2019 BMXWA State Championships Saturday BLOCK – CLICK HERE
  • POP Clubby, Park Orchards BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Clubby Series 3 Rd2, Macarthur BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Fast Five Series Rd5, The Cove BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Series 2 Rd8, Castle Hill BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • BMXTAS State Series Rd4, Launceston BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Spring into Summer Rd1, Gawler BMX Club – CLICK HERE

SUNDAY October 13

  • Round 23, Cairns BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Series 2 Rd6, Sydney BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Club Racing with Divisions, Southern City BMX Club – CLICK HERE
  • Casey Wolfdene BMX Open, Casey BMX Club – CLICK HERE

Are you interested in some sweet BAD BOY clothing? Take a look at their stock through the image below.