The first BMX Australia National Championships for the new decade is imminent as the countdown has reached the three-week mark with entries now closed for all classes. 


Close to 2000 entries have been received with up to 5000 riders and supporters from over 100 clubs expected to descend upon the Launceston BMX Club from March 24-28 to partake in the five-day festival of BMX.

The event will feature four days of racing and incorporate the Oceania Continental Championships (Wednesday 25/3) that will feature Australian riders taking on some of New Zealand’s best. Competitors ranging in age from four to 69 will take part.

Tasmania will be represented by three clubs with the hosts Launceston providing 36 riders, Wynyard Park bringing 51 and Hobart’s Southern City having 50.

Outside of the home state, Queensland has the most representation with 30 clubs heading to Launceston. Knox BMX Club is one of 19 clubs from Victoria making the trip across the Tasman, with Knox boasting the strongest number of riders outside of Tasmania with 44 entries.

New South Wales will be represented by 19 clubs at this year’s national championships and one of the riders heading down south is Irene Markee of Macarthur BMX Club who is the oldest competitor at 69-years-of-age.

The Cove BMX Club and Happy Valley BMX Club are two of eight clubs heading from South Australia, both sending over 30 riders each, while five Northern Territory clubs have entered riders.

Despite the distance, riders from 15 different clubs in Western Australia will embark on the trip to Launceston. The ACT will be represented by two clubs with dual Olympian Caroline Buchanan back at a national championships for the first time since 2017, representing Tuggeranong BMX Club.

In the elite classes, there are 71 entries from 42 different clubs. Current national champion Izaac Kennedy is back to defend his crown in the men’s elite class, while Buchanan and Tokyo Olympic hopeful Saya Sakakibara will headline the elite women’s field.

For more information on the 2020 BMX Australia National Championships, click HERE.